Compare and Research Doctors and Hospitals

This page contains links to other websites that offer tools to compare doctors and/or facilities. These comparison tools can help you decide which doctor or facility is best for you.

Blue Distinction® Specialty Care

Search for Blue Distinction Centers® using CareFirst’s Find A Doctor. directory when you have specialty care needs, such as bariatric, cardiac, transplant, spine, or knee or hip replacement surgery, in the CareFirst Service Area (Maryland, the District of Columbia and Northern Virginia). These facilities have demonstrated expertise in delivering clinically proven specialty health care.

To find a Blue Distinction Center® outside of the CareFirst service area, visit the BlueCross BlueShield National Doctor and Hospital Finder.

HealthGrades provides a variety of information on physicians and hospitals based on data from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Hospital ratings include mortality by diagnosis and Leapfrog status. (Note: There is a charge for some reports).

Hospital Compare
Hospital Compare allows you to compare the quality of care provided in acute-care hospitals (general hospitals) and critical access hospitals (rural community hospitals) for adult patients with common medical conditions such as heart attack, heart failure and pneumonia.

Leapfrog Group
The Leapfrog Group provides information on the quality of certain aspects of care relevant to urban area hospitals.

National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)
NCQA certifies providers who have demonstrated that they meet important standards of care. Physicians in the Physician Practice Connections, Physician Practice Connections – Patient Centered Medical Home, Heart/Stroke Recognition, Diabetes Recognition and Back Pain Recognition programs have taken specific steps to enhance the quality of care delivered to members under their care. Select your state and the applicable Recognition Program to research providers.

Quality Check
Quality Check is a comprehensive guide to health care organizations and programs accredited by The Joint Commission (TJC) throughout the United States. TJC provides organization-specific Quality Reports which include:

  • TJC accreditation status
  • Compliance with TJC's National Patient Safety Goals, and performance on National Quality Improvement Goals (hospitals only). National Quality Improvement Goals allow hospitals to report on the key indicators of quality of care in up to three treatment areas: heart attack, heart failure and pneumonia care
  • Special quality awards